Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious offense with severe legal consequences. If you are caught driving under the influence, you will likely face jail time, hefty fines, and a suspended license. In some states, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
If you are convicted of driving under the influence, you will likely face jail time. The amount of time you will spend in jail depends on a number of factors, including whether it is your first offense and whether anyone was injured as a result of your actions. In Mississippi, first-time offenders can expect to spend up to 48 hours in jail if convicted.
Fines and Penalties
In addition to jail time, you will also be required to pay a fine if you are convicted of driving under the influence. The amount of the fine in Mississippi is up to $1,000, but if you are in a different state it may vary widely.
License Suspension or Revocation
If you are convicted of driving under the influence, your driver’s license will be suspended for a period of time. The length of the suspension will depend on the state in which you are convicted and the severity of your offense. In some states, first-time offenders can expect their licenses to be suspended for up to six months.
Under Mississippi law, first time offenders and offenders without other pending DUI charges are eligible for non-adjudication. Non-adjudication is where a person pleads guilty, but will withhold the acceptance of a guilty plea, and dismiss their charge after certain conditions are met. The possible conditions are:
- Supervised or unsupervised probation
- Pay all court costs and fines that you would’ve paid had you been convicted
- Pay a $250 non-adjudication fee
- Complete the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program (MASEP)
- Either have your license suspended for 120 days or have an ignition interlock device installed for 120 days
- Attend a victim impact statement
Driving under the influence is a serious offense that can have severe legal consequences. If you are caught driving under the influence, you can expect to face jail time, hefty fines, and a suspended license. In some states, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If you have been charged with driving under the influence, it is important to seek legal counsel as soon as possible so that you can understand your rights and options. Our office has years of experience successfully representing people who are charged with DUIs and other crimes in Mississippi. Call us at 601-353-0054, or contact us on our website.